Skip to main content


Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2017

Mystery Writers of America has announced the winners of the 2017 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or produced in 2016. The Edgar® Awards were presented at their 71st Gala Banquet on April 27, 2017 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

Los Angeles Times Book Prizes 2016

The 37th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were awarded on Friday, April 21, 2017 in a public ceremony at USC’s Bovard Auditorium. The best books of 2016 were recognized in 11 categories, along with the winners of the Innovator’s and Robert Kirsch awards.

Books for a Better Life Awards 2016

The New York City - Southern New York Chapter of the National MS Society has announced the winners of the 21st Annual Books for a Better Life Awards during a ceremony at The TimesCenter in Manhattan on April 17, 2017.

2017 Pulitzer Prizes

The 101st annual Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, Letters, Drama and Music, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board, have been announced.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2016

The winners of the 2016 National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced on March 16, 2017 at the New School in New York.

Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Awards 2016

Barnes & Noble has announced the winners for the 2016 Discover Great New Writers Awards. The winners in each category received a $30,000 prize and a full year of promotion from B&N. Runner-up authors got $15,000, and third place $7,500.

The National Book Awards 2016

Winners of the 2016 National Book Award in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature were announced at the 67th National Book Awards Benefit Dinner and Ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on November 16, 2016.

The 2016 Kirkus Prize

At a special ceremony in the penthouse of the Four Seasons Residences in Austin, Texas, Kirkus Reviews, the nation’s leading journal of prepublication book reviews, announced the winners of the third annual Kirkus Prize in the categories of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016

THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty has been awarded the 2016 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. The 54-year-old New York resident, born in Los Angeles, is the first American author to win the prize in its 48-year history. US authors became eligible in 2014. THE SELLOUT is a searing satire on race relations in contemporary America. It is described by The New York Times as a "metaphorical multicultural pot almost too hot to touch," while the Wall Street Journal called it a "Swiftian satire of the highest order. Like someone shouting fire in a crowded theatre, Mr. Beatty has whispered 'Racism' in a postracial world."

Anthony Awards 2016

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is pleased to announce the Anthony Award winners for 2016. The Anthony Awards are presented at each annual Bouchercon with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), writer and critic from the New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.