Skip to main content


Los Angeles Times Book Prizes 2019

The 40th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were awarded on April 17th. The best books of 2019 were recognized in 12 categories, including the new Ray Bradbury Prize for Science Fiction, Fantasy & Speculative Fiction, along with the winners of the Robert Kirsch and Innovator’s awards.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2019

The winners of the 2019 National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced on March 12th at the New School in New York City.

The Audie Awards 2020

The Audio Publishers Association (APA) has announced the winners of the 2020 Audie Awards®, the premier awards program in the United States recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2020

Congratulations to Valeria Luiselli and Adam Higginbotham, the 2020 winners of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Luiselli won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for her novel, LOST CHILDREN ARCHIVE, published by Knopf, an imprint of Penguin Random House. Higginbotham won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for his book, MIDNIGHT IN CHERNOBYL, published by Simon & Schuster.

The National Book Awards 2019

The winners of the 2019 National Book Award in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature were announced at the 70th National Book Awards Benefit Dinner and Ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on November 20th.

Two lifetime achievement awards were also presented at the ceremony: Edmund White was recognized with the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, presented by John Waters; and Oren J. Teicher received the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community, presented by Ann Patchett.

Anthony Awards 2019

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is pleased to announce the Anthony Award winners for 2019. The Anthony Awards are presented at each annual Bouchercon with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), writer and critic from the New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

Macavity Awards 2019

The Macavity Award winners were announced at the Bouchercon 2019 Opening Ceremonies in St. Dallas, TX on October 31st.

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

The 2019 Kirkus Prize

At a special ceremony at the Austin Public Library in Austin, Texas, Kirkus Reviews, the nation’s leading prepublication journal of book reviews, announced the winners of the sixth annual Kirkus Prize in the categories of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2019

The 2019 Man Booker Prize for Fiction has been awarded to Margaret Atwood for THE TESTAMENTS and Bernardine Evaristo for GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER. The Booker Prize has been jointly awarded twice before, to Nadine Gordimer and Stanley Middleton in 1974 and to Michael Ondaatje and Barry Unsworth in 1992. In 1993, the rules were changed so that only one author could win the prize. This is the first time since then that two authors have been announced as joint winners. Click here to read more about Atwood, Evaristo and their prize-winning books.

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2019

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2019 has been awarded to Peter Handke "for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience." Born in Griffen, Austria, in 1942, Handke is the author of books, plays and screenplays, including the novel CROSSING THE SIERRA DE GREDOS and the nonfiction work DON JUAN: His Own Version.