Skip to main content


The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2018

MILKMAN by Anna Burns has been awarded the 2018 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. The novel concerns a bookish young woman growing up in a city rife with factions who is pressurized by an older, more powerful man with an unsettling sexual interest in her, and tormented by the vicious tongues of her neighbors. It is about the misuse of power and about the pernicious effects of gossip and rumor.

Anthony Awards 2018

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is pleased to announce the Anthony Award winners for 2018. The Anthony Awards are presented at each annual Bouchercon with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), writer and critic from the New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

Macavity Awards 2018

The Macavity Award winners were announced at the Bouchercon 2018 Opening Ceremonies in St. Petersburg, FL on Thursday, September 6th.

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

International Thriller Writers Awards 2018

On July 14, 2018, during ThrillerFest XIII, the International Thriller Writers (ITW) announced the winners of the 2018 Thriller Awards at the Grand Hyatt in New York City.

The Audie Awards 2018

The Audio Publishers Association (APA) has announced the winners of the 2018 Audie Awards®, the premier awards program in the United States recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.

Agatha Awards 2017

On April 29, 2018, Malice Domestic announced the winners of the 2017 Agatha Awards at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel in Bethesda, MD. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery," books typified by the works of Agatha Christie and others. For the purposes of Malice Domestic, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that contain no explicit sex, excessive gore or gratuitous violence, and are not classified as "hard-boiled."

Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2018

Mystery Writers of America has announced the winners of the 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or produced in 2017. The Edgar® Awards were presented at their 72nd Gala Banquet on April 26, 2018 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

Los Angeles Times Book Prizes 2017

The 38th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were awarded on Friday, April 20, 2018 in a public ceremony at USC’s Bovard Auditorium. The best books of 2017 were recognized in 11 categories, along with the winners of the Innovator’s and Robert Kirsch awards.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2017

The winners of the 2017 National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced on March 15, 2018 at the New School in New York.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2018

Congratulations to Jennifer Egan and Sherman Alexie, the 2018 winners of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Egan won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for her novel, MANHATTAN BEACH, published by Scribner, an imprint of Simon & Schuster. Alexie won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for his memoir, YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAY YOU LOVE ME, published by Little, Brown and Company, an imprint of Hachette Book Group.