Skip to main content


The National Book Awards 2018

The shortlists for the 2018 National Book Awards have been announced in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature and Young People’s Literature. The winners will be announced at the invitation-only National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner on November 14th in New York City.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2019

A total of 47 books (25 fiction, 22 nonfiction) have been selected for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction longlist.

The six-title shortlist --- three each for the fiction and nonfiction medals --- will be chosen from the longlist titles and announced on October 24th. The two medal winners will be announced at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting in Seattle on January 27th.

The 2018 Kirkus Prize

Kirkus Reviews, the nation’s leading prepublication journal of book reviews, has announced the six finalists for the fifth annual Kirkus Prize in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction and Young Readers’ Literature. This year’s finalists were chosen from 604 young readers’ literature titles, 295 fiction titles and 294 nonfiction titles. The three winners will be announced at a special ceremony in Austin, Texas on Thursday, October 25th.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2018

The shortlist for the 2018 Man Booker Prize has been announced. Featuring four women and two men, the shortlist covers a wide range of subjects, from an 11-year-old slave escaping a Barbados sugar plantation, to a D-Day veteran living with post-traumatic stress disorder.

The winner will be announced on October 16th in London’s Guildhall, at a dinner that brings together the shortlisted authors and well-known figures from the cultural world. The ceremony will be aired by the BBC, the prize’s broadcast partner.

Anthony Awards 2018

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is pleased to announce the Anthony Award winners for 2018. The Anthony Awards are presented at each annual Bouchercon with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), writer and critic from the New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

Macavity Awards 2018

The Macavity Award winners were announced at the Bouchercon 2018 Opening Ceremonies in St. Petersburg, FL on Thursday, September 6th.

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

International Thriller Writers Awards 2018

On July 14, 2018, during ThrillerFest XIII, the International Thriller Writers (ITW) announced the winners of the 2018 Thriller Awards at the Grand Hyatt in New York City.

The Audie Awards 2018

The Audio Publishers Association (APA) has announced the winners of the 2018 Audie Awards®, the premier awards program in the United States recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.

Agatha Awards 2017

On April 29, 2018, Malice Domestic announced the winners of the 2017 Agatha Awards at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel in Bethesda, MD. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery," books typified by the works of Agatha Christie and others. For the purposes of Malice Domestic, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that contain no explicit sex, excessive gore or gratuitous violence, and are not classified as "hard-boiled."

Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2018

Mystery Writers of America has announced the winners of the 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or produced in 2017. The Edgar® Awards were presented at their 72nd Gala Banquet on April 26, 2018 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.