Skip to main content

She Lies in Wait

About the Book

She Lies in Wait

Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust? A teen girl goes missing after a night of partying; 30 years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in a gripping thriller for readers of Tana French, THE WOMAN IN CABIN 10 and the Lynley series.

On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group --- Aurora Jackson --- is delighted to be allowed to tag along. The evening starts like any other --- they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim that she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found.

Thirty years later, Aurora’s body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers --- including Aurora --- personally, even before taking part in the search. Now he’s determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night. Sheens’ investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead, and all of them profoundly changed forever.

This searing, psychologically captivating novel marks the arrival of a dazzling new talent, and the start of a new series featuring Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens.

She Lies in Wait
by Gytha Lodge