Skip to main content

Dead of Winter


Dead of Winter

P. J. Parrish, whose first book DARK OF THE MOON introduced Detective Louis Kincaid and received accolades from reviewers far and wide, has returned with DEAD OF WINTER.

In truth, P. J. Parrish is a team of two sisters who write together; one lives in Mississippi, the other in Florida. They have both had diverse careers and their experiences are evident in their crime fiction work. In 1995 they created the character Louis Kincaid.

DEAD OF WINTER takes place in Northern Michigan in a small town known as Loon Lake. Kincaid has traveled there to apply for a job as a Police Officer on the town's small Police Force. After a quick interview, the Sheriff hires him.

Corruption makes itself evident quickly, as Louis learns that an officer has recently been murdered and thus far there are no suspects. In the course of his investigation, yet another murder is discovered, this time a retired officer. As Kincaid delves further into the case, he becomes aware that the two murders are connected, and it seems as though someone has it in for the department.

Through many twists and turns, Kincaid learns the horrible truth and is reluctant to believe that his conclusions are correct as to what really happened in this remote town. Only when he brings in a suspect, whom he has to let go, does the truth about these killings begin to surface.

Kincaid learns that tightly held secrets about the past have brought about the rash of killings --- and he almost becomes a victim himself. He becomes aware that people are not always what they seem and can be dangerous in more ways than one.

The sisters that comprise P. J. Parrish are now at work on their third and forth novels starring Louis Kincaid and on a new series featuring a female detective. They have earned their place in crime fiction with tightly developed plots, and readers will see much more of them in the future. Truly, they are a writing team to watch.

Reviewed by Dave Taylor on January 21, 2011

Dead of Winter
by P. J. Parrish

  • Publication Date: January 1, 2001
  • Genres: Fiction, Mystery
  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Pinnacle
  • ISBN-10: 0786011890
  • ISBN-13: 9780786011896