Skip to main content

An Ocean of Minutes

About the Book

An Ocean of Minutes

In the vein of THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE and STATION ELEVEN, a sweeping literary love story about two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart.

America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save him, even if it means risking everything. She agrees to a radical plan --- time travel has been invented in the future to thwart the virus. If she signs up for a one-way-trip into the future to work as a bonded laborer, the company will pay for the life-saving treatment Frank needs. Polly promises to meet Frank again in Galveston, Texas, where she will arrive in 12 years.

But when Polly is re-routed an extra five years into the future, Frank is nowhere to be found. Alone in a changed and divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must navigate a new life and find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he is alive and if their love has endured.

AN OCEAN OF MINUTES is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story about the endurance and complexity of human relationships and the cost of holding onto the past --- and the price of letting it go.

Audiobook available, read by Lisa Rost-Welling

An Ocean of Minutes
by Thea Lim

  • Publication Date: July 10, 2018
  • Genres: Fiction
  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Touchstone
  • ISBN-10: 1501192558
  • ISBN-13: 9781501192555