Skip to main content

Stephen J. Cannell


Stephen J. Cannell

Stephen J. Cannell (1941-2010) was the author of the bestselling Shane Scully books, including THE PROSTITUTES' BALL, THE PALLBEARERS and THREE SHIRT DEAL. He was also an Emmy Award-winning television writer and producer, and in his 35-year-career, he created or co-created more than forty TV series. Among his hits were "The Rockford Files," "Silk Stalkings," "The A-Team," "21 Jump Street," "Hunter," "Renegade," "Wiseguy" and "The Commish." He received numerous awards, including the Saturn Award - Life Career Award (2004), The Marlow Lifetime Achievement Award from Mystery Writers of America (2005) and the WGA Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement (2006). Having overcome severe dyslexia, Cannell was an avid spokesperson on the condition and an advocate for children and adults with learning disabilities. He was a third-generation Californian and resided in the Pasadena area with his wife, Marcia, and their children.

Stephen J. Cannell

Books by Stephen J. Cannell

by Stephen J. Cannell - Fiction, Thriller

In the last novel by acclaimed producer and New York Times bestselling author Stephen J. Cannell, LAPD detective Shane Scully and his partner Summer Hitchens investigate crime with ties to the sometimes violent world of reality TV.

by Stephen J. Cannell - Fiction, Suspense, Thriller

When LAPD Detective Shane Scully responds to a call at a once-immaculate mansion, the place is deserted --- except for three dead bodies, all shot with the same gun. But when Scully starts investigating what looks like an open-and-shut case, things take a turn for the worse.