Skip to main content

Edwidge Danticat


Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat is the author of numerous books, including BROTHER, I'M DYING, a National Book Critics Circle Award winner and National Book Award finalist; BREATH, EYES, MEMORY, an Oprah Book Club selection; KRIK? KRAK!, a National Book Award finalist; THE FARMING OF BONES, an American Book Award winner; and THE DEW BREAKER, a PEN/Faulkner Award finalist and winner of the inaugural Story Prize. The recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship, she has been published in The New Yorker, The New York Times, and elsewhere. She lives in Miami.

Photo Credit: © Nancy Crampton

Edwidge Danticat

Books by Edwidge Danticat

by Edwidge Danticat - Fiction, Literary Fiction

Edwidge Danticat’s first work of fiction since 2004’s THE DEW BREAKER is comprised of eight interlocking stories set in early 21st-century Haiti. The tales revolve around a seven-year-old girl named Claire, whose mother died in childbirth and whose father, a fisherman, now wants to give her away so that she will have a better life. CLAIRE OF THE SEA LIGHT is a riveting portrait of Haitian villagers and is told in Danticat’s lyrical prose.