Skip to main content

Debbie Babitt


Debbie Babitt

Debbie Babitt is the author of SAVING GRACE, named One of the Most Anticipated Thrillers of 2021 by She Reads and voted a Best Debut of 2021 by Suspense magazine. FIRST VICTIM, her second novel, was a Buzz Book of 2022. Debbie is also the author of “Adventures in Copywriting” that appeared in MAKING THE PERFECT PITCH: How to Catch a Literary Agent’s Eye.

Previous creative incarnations include actress, playwright, drama critic, and Copy Director for two major Manhattan publishing companies. Her feature articles have appeared in CrimeReads, Suspense magazine and Mystery & Suspense magazine. Debbie is a member of Mystery Writers of America, International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. THE MAN ON THE TRAIN, Debbie’s third novel, a Hitchcockian thriller set in New York City and the Hamptons, will be published in May 2024.

Debbie Babitt

Books by Debbie Babitt

by Debbie Babitt - Fiction, Suspense, Thriller

From the bench at Manhattan Supreme, the Honorable Alice D. McKerrity has seen the most hardened killers pass through her courtroom. But there’s something about this trial --- a defendant charged with the murder of a pregnant woman --- that affects her as no other case ever has. She’s also harboring a secret that if exposed could have far-reaching ramifications both personally and professionally. And now, unbeknownst to Alice, her daughter has begun a search for her biological father. As the trial progresses, Alice’s life starts to unravel. Almost at the breaking point, she begins to doubt her own sanity. Then she makes a shocking discovery that sends her on a collision course with her past and a terror-filled night in the woods in Upstate New York.

by Debbie Babitt - Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller

For 24 years, Mary Grace Dobbs has been searching for salvation. Orphaned at 11, she was forced to go live with her Bible salesman uncle, wheelchair-bound aunt, and a cousin who tortured and killed small animals. At school, a bully made her life a nightmare. Everything changed when a newcomer to town became her only best friend, and changed a second time when that friend and another classmate vanished two months later, never to be seen again. Today, Mary Grace is the first female sheriff of her rural town, a position that doesn’t sit well with some of the locals. Keeping order and her demons at bay becomes an impossible task when the Black drifter suspected in the earlier disappearances returns to Repentance...and another sixth grader vanishes.