Skip to main content

Dana Chamblee Carpenter


Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Dana Chamblee Carpenter is the author of BOOK OF THE JUST, the third novel in The Bohemian Trilogy. The first book in the series, BOHEMIAN GOSPEL, won the 2014 Killer Nashville Claymore Award. Publishers Weekly called it “a deliciously creepy debut.”

Her second book, THE DEVIL'S BIBLE, won the 2017 Silver Falchion Award for Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Horror Thriller and Best Novel Overall. Publishers Weekly said: “Mouse is both strong and vulnerable, constantly struggling with the dark legacy of her father, her own powers, and her efforts to be a good person. This exciting, poignant novel continues the strong opening in BOHEMIAN GOSPEL and leaves room for more in Mouse’s fascinating world.”

Carpenter’s award winning short fiction has also appeared in The Arkansas Review, Jersey Devil Press, Maypop and, most recently, in the anthologies DEAD ENDS: Stories from the Gothic South and KILLER NASHVILLE NOIR: Cold Blooded.

An Arkansas native, Carpenter received her Ph.D. in English from the University of Mississippi. Though initially lured by the pragmatic academic world, Carpenter secretly nurtured her dream of writing stories, and, once the dust had settled on the dissertation, she gave herself over to what she’d known since she was a child --- she was meant to be a storyteller.

She currently teaches creative writing and American Literature at a university in Nashville, TN, where she lives with her husband and two children, who are desperately trying to turn the house into a model of Luna Lovegood’s eccentric home with glass beads and bells and little figures nestled into every nook and cranny. Hopefully there aren’t any exploding dragon horns.

Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Books by Dana Chamblee Carpenter

by Dana Chamblee Carpenter - Fiction, Supernatural Thriller, Suspense, Thriller

Hiding among a tribe of the Martu in the isolation of the Australian outback near the edges of Lake Disappointment, Mouse and her lover, Angelo, have seemingly evaded at least one of the predators hunting them. Carefully dropping bogus breadcrumbs across Europe, they misdirect the Novus Rishi, a ruthless cult that wants Mouse as the ultimate weapon in their battle against evil. But when unnerving dreams start to plague Angelo, and the ancient beings of the Martu’s Dreaming send prophetic warnings that include visions of Mouse at her father’s side, the two lovers realize it’s time to act. With nowhere left to run, Mouse and Angelo prepare for a last showdown with their enemies.

by Dana Chamblee Carpenter - Fiction, Historical Mystery, Historical Thriller, Mystery, Supernatural Thriller, Suspense, Thriller

The Devil’s Bible. Once considered an eighth wonder of the world, the ancient book is shrouded in mystery. No one knows who wrote it or where it was written. Even dry-boned scholars whisper about the secrets hidden in the book. But no one knows the truth --- no one except Mouse. She’s been running from the truth at the heart of the Devil’s Bible for so long that no one even knows her name anymore. She calls herself Emma Nicholas --- a normal name for a normal college professor living a normal life. But all of it is a lie, and, when forces emerge that threaten to expose her, Mouse has no choice but to take flight once more.

by Dana Chamblee Carpenter - Fiction, Historical Fiction

Thirteenth-century Bohemia is a dangerous place for a girl, especially one as odd as Mouse, born with unnatural senses and an uncanny intellect. When young King Ottakar shows up at the Abbey wounded by a traitor's arrow, Mouse breaks church law to save him and then agrees to accompany him back to Prague as his personal healer. Caught in the undertow of court politics at the castle, Ottakar and Mouse find themselves drawn to each other as they work to uncover the threat against him and to unravel the mystery of her past.