Skip to main content

Ben H. Winters


Ben H. Winters

Ben H. Winters is the New York Times bestselling, Edgar Award–winning, and Philip K. Dick Award–winning author of BIG TIME, THE QUIET BOY, GOLDEN STATE, UNDERGROUND AIRLINES, the Last Policeman trilogy, and the mash-up novel SENSE AND SENSIBILITY AND SEA MONSTERS.

Ben has also worked extensively in television. He was a writer on the FX cult hit "Legion," as well as "Manhunt" on Apple TV+, and he is the creator of the CBS drama "Tracker."

He lives in Los Angeles with his wife, three kids and one large dog.

Ben H. Winters

Books by Ben H. Winters

by Ben H. Winters - Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

Grace Berney is a mid-level bureaucrat in the Food and Drug Administration, a woman who once brimmed with purpose but somehow turned into a middle-aged single mom with a dull government job and a melancholy sense that life has passed her by. Until the night a strange photo comes across her desk, of a young woman in a hospital bed who has been subjected to a mysterious procedure. Against orders and against common sense, Grace sets out to bring the girl to safety, and finds herself risking her job, her future and her life on whether or not she can find the missing girl before an obsessive and violent mercenary who’s also looking.

by Ben H. Winters - Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

In 2008, a cheerful ambulance-chasing lawyer named Jay Shenk persuades the grieving Keener family to sue a private LA hospital. Their son, Wesley, has been transformed by a routine surgery into a kind of golem, absent all normal functioning or personality, walking in endless empty circles around his hospital room. In 2019, Shenk --- still in practice but a shell of his former self --- is hired to defend Wesley Keener’s father when he is charged with murdering the expert witness from the 2008 hospital case. Shenk’s adopted son, a fragile teenager in 2008, is a wayward adult, though he may find his purpose when he investigates what really happened to the murdered witness.

by Ben H. Winters - Dystopian, Fiction, Suspense, Thriller

In a strange alternate society that values law and truth above all else, Laszlo Ratesic is a 19-year veteran of the Speculative Service. He lives in the Golden State, a nation standing where California once did, a place where like-minded Americans retreated after the erosion of truth and the spread of lies made public life and governance impossible. In the Golden State, knowingly contradicting the truth is the greatest crime --- and stopping those crimes is Laz's job. In its service, he is one of the few individuals permitted to harbor untruths, to "speculate" on what might have happened. When those in control of the facts twist them for nefarious means, the Speculators are the only ones with the power to fight back.

by Ben H. Winters - Fiction, Suspense, Thriller

A gifted young black man calling himself Victor has struck a bargain with federal law enforcement, working as a bounty hunter for the US Marshall Service. In this version of America, slavery continues in four states called "the Hard Four." On the trail of a runaway known as Jackdaw, Victor works to infiltrate the local cell of an abolitionist movement called the Underground Airlines. He believes himself to be a good man doing bad work, unwilling to give up the freedom he has worked so hard to earn. But in pursuing Jackdaw, Victor discovers secrets at the core of the country's arrangement with the Hard Four, secrets the government will preserve at any cost.

by Ben H. Winters - Mystery, Science Fiction

What’s the point in solving murders if we’re all going to die soon, anyway?
Detective Hank Palace has faced this question ever since asteroid 2011GV1 hovered into view. There’s no chance left. No hope. Just six precious months until impact.