Skip to main content

Amy Tan


Amy Tan

Amy Tan is the author of THE JOY LUCK CLUB, THE KITCHEN GOD'S WIFE, THE HUNDRED SECRET SENSES, THE BONESETTER'S DAUGHTER, THE OPPOSITE OF FATE: Memories of a Writing Life, SAVING FISH FROM DROWNING, and two children's books, THE MOON LADY and SAGWA, which was adapted into a PBS Kids production. Tan was also a coproducer and coscreenwriter of the film version of THE JOY LUCK CLUB. Her essays and stories have appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies, and her work has been translated into 35 languages. She lives with her husband in San Francisco and New York.

Amy Tan

Books by Amy Tan

by Amy Tan - Memoir, Nonfiction

In WHERE THE PAST BEGINS, Amy Tan reveals the ways that our memories and personal experiences can inform our creative work. Drawing on her vivid impressions of her upbringing, she investigates the truths and inspirations behind her writing while illuminating how we all explore, confront and process complex memories, especially half-forgotten ones from childhood. With candor, empathy and humor, Tan sheds light on her own writing process, sharing her hard-won insights on the nature of creativity and inspiration while exploring the universal urge to examine truth through the workings of imagination --- and what that imaginative world tells us about our own lives.

by Amy Tan - Fiction, Historical Fiction

Amy Tan's latest novel tells the story of two women’s intertwined fates and their search for identity. Spanning more than 40 years and two continents, THE VALLEY OF AMAZEMENT transports readers from the collapse of China's last imperial dynasty to the beginning of the Republic, and recaptures the lost world of old Shanghai through the inner workings of courtesan houses and the lives of the foreigners living in the International Settlement, both erased by World War II.

written by Amy Tan, read by Amy Tan and Joan Chen - Fiction

In a remote mountain village where ghosts and tradition rule, LuLing grows up in the care of her mute Precious Auntie as the family endures a curse laid upon a relative known as the bonesetter. When headstrong LuLing rejects the marriage proposal of the coffinmaker, a shocking series of events are set in motion --- all of which lead back to LuLing and her daughter, Ruth, in modern San Francisco.