Skip to main content

Graham Swift


Graham Swift

Graham Swift lives in London and is the author of eight novels: THE SWEET-SHOP OWNER; SHUTTLECOCK, which received the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize; WATERLAND, which was short-listed for the Booker Prize and won The Guardian Fiction Award, the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize and the Italian Premio Grinzane Cavour; OUT OF THIS WORLD; EVER AFTER, which won the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger; LAST ORDERS, which was awarded the Booker Prize; THE LIGHT OF DAY; and, most recently, TOMORROW. He is also the author of LEARNING TO SWIM, a collection of short stories. His work has been translated into more than 30 languages.

Graham Swift

Books by Graham Swift

by Graham Swift - Fiction, Short Stories

Meet Dr. Shah, who has never been to India, and Mrs. Kaminski, on her way to Poland; meet Holly and Polly, who have come to their own Anglo-Irish understanding, and Charlie and Don, who have seen the docks turn into Docklands; Daisy Baker, who is terrified of Yorkshire; and Johnny Dewhurst, stranded on Exmoor. Graham Swift steers us from the 17th century to the present day, from world-shaking events to the secret dramas lived out in rooms, workplaces and homes.

by Graham Swift - Fiction

On an autumn day in 2006, on the Isle of Wight, Jack Luxton receives the news that his brother, not seen for years, has been killed in combat in Iraq. For Jack and his wife, Ellie, this will have unexpected, far-reaching effects. For Jack in particular, it means a crucial journey: to receive his brother’s remains and to confront his most secret, troubling memories.