Graham Swift

Graham Swift lives in London and is the author of eight novels: THE SWEET-SHOP OWNER; SHUTTLECOCK, which received the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize; WATERLAND, which was short-listed for the Booker Prize and won The Guardian Fiction Award, the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize and the Italian Premio Grinzane Cavour; OUT OF THIS WORLD; EVER AFTER, which won the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger; LAST ORDERS, which was awarded the Booker Prize; THE LIGHT OF DAY; and, most recently, TOMORROW. He is also the author of LEARNING TO SWIM, a collection of short stories. His work has been translated into more than 30 languages.

Graham Swift

Books by Graham Swift

by Graham Swift - Fiction, Romance

Twenty-two-year-old Jane Fairchild has worked as a maid at an English country house since she was 16. For almost all of those years, she has been the clandestine lover to Paul Sheringham, young heir of a neighboring house. The two now meet on an unseasonably warm March day --- Mothering Sunday --- a day that will change Jane’s life forever. As the narrative moves back and forth from 1924 to the end of the century, what we know and understand about Jane expands with every vividly captured moment.

by Graham Swift - Fiction, Short Stories

Graham Swift presents a vision of a country, England, that is both a crucible of history and a maze of contemporary confusions. Moving from the 17th century to the present day, from world-shaking events to domestic dramas and frequently mixing tragedy with comedy, ENGLAND AND OTHER STORIES is bound together by an underlying instinct for the story of us all: an evocation of that mysterious thing, a nation, enriched by a clear-eyed compassion for how human individuals find or lose their way in the nationless territory of birth, growing up, sex, aging and death.

by Graham Swift - Fiction

On an autumn day in 2006, on the Isle of Wight, Jack Luxton receives the news that his brother, not seen for years, has been killed in combat in Iraq. For Jack and his wife, Ellie, this will have unexpected, far-reaching effects. For Jack in particular, it means a crucial journey: to receive his brother’s remains and to confront his most secret, troubling memories.