Skip to main content

Critical Praise

"A rich and personal novel. What excellent writing, and what subtlety and intelligence inform this book. Readers who wait impatiently for the next Jane Hamilton or Sue Miller novel will find another favorite in Caroline Leavitt."

——Katharine Weber, author of The Music Lesson

"Leavitt has a talent for creating believable characters whose problems touch the reader's heart."

——Library Journal

"Caroline Leavitt is a marvelous writer."

——Anne Lamott, author of Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts On Faith

"Human nature can run from Caroline Leavitt, but cannot hide. She knows people, their fears, their blunders, and their reformation, and she tells them plain."

——Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of The Deep End of the Ocean

"In the vein of Jacquelyn Mitchard or Jane Hamilton. Realistic, well-plotted, eminently readable portrait of a family in crisis."

——Kirkus Reviews