Skip to main content

Jonathan Franzen


Jonathan Franzen

Jonathan Franzen is the author of four novels (FREEDOM, THE CORRECTIONS, STRONG MOTION and THE TWENTY-SEVENTH CITY), a collection of essays (HOW TO BE ALONE), a personal history (THE DISCOMFORT ZONE), and a translation of Frank Wedekind's SPRING AWAKENING, all published by FSG. He lives in New York City and Santa Cruz, California.

Jonathan Franzen

Books by Jonathan Franzen

by Jonathan Franzen - Essays, Nonfiction

In FARTHER AWAY, which gathers together essays and speeches written mostly in the past five years, Jonathan Franzen returns with renewed vigor to the themes, both human and literary, that have long preoccupied him. These pieces deliver on Franzen’s implicit promise to conceal nothing.

by Jonathan Franzen - Fiction

Patty and Walter Berglund were the new pioneers of old St. Paul --- the gentrifiers, the hands-on parents, the avant-garde of the Whole Foods generation. But now, in the new millennium, the Berglunds have become a mystery.