Skip to main content

C. W. Gortner

Biography

C. W. Gortner

A former fashion executive, C. W. Gortner is a lifelong admirer of Coco Chanel. His passion for writing led him to give up fashion, and his many historical novels have been bestsellers, published in more than twenty countries. He lives in San Francisco.

C. W. Gortner

Books by C. W. Gortner

by C. W. Gortner - Fiction, Historical Fiction

For readers of THE PARIS WIFE and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel --- the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the 20th century.

by C. W. Gortner - Adventure, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical Mystery, Mystery

London, 1558. Queen Mary is dead, and Elizabeth ascends the throne. Summoned to court from exile abroad, Elizabeth’s intimate spy, Brendan Prescott, is reunited with the young queen. Elizabeth dispatches him on a mission: to find her favored lady in waiting, Lady Parry. The mystery surrounding Lady Parry deepens as Brendan begins to realize there is far more going on at the manor than meets the eye. But the closer he gets, the more he learns that in his zeal to uncover the truth, he could be precipitating Elizabeth’s destruction.

by C. W. Gortner - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical Mystery, Historical Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

Mary Tudor wears the English crown, but she needs an heir to deny her half-sister Elizabeth’s claim to the throne once and for all. Unfortunately, that heir proves hard to come by, and Mary’s tenuous grasp on the throne grows weaker with every rumor. When a known spy arrives at court, neither sister knows what to make of the situation.

by C. W. Gortner - Fiction, Historical Fiction

“No one believed I was destined for greatness.” So begins Isabella’s story, in C. W. Gortner’s novel about one of history’s most famous and controversial queens --- the warrior who united a fractured country, the champion of the faith whose reign gave rise to the Inquisition, and the visionary who sent Columbus to discover a New World.