Skip to main content


Barry Awards 2016

Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine has announced the shortlist for the 2016 Barry Awards. The winners will be presented at this year’s Bouchercon in New Orleans during the Opening Ceremonies on September 15, 2016. The readers of Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine will determine the eventual winners.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2016

Congratulations to Viet Thanh Nguyen and Sally Mann, the 2016 winners of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Viet Thanh Nguyen won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for his novel THE SYMPATHIZER, published by Grove Press, an imprint of Grove Atlantic. Sally Mann won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for her book, HOLD STILL: A Memoir with Photographs, published by Little, Brown, and Company, an imprint of Hachette Book Group.

The National Book Awards 2015

Winners of the 2015 National Book Award in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature were announced at the 66th National Book Awards Benefit Dinner and Ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on November 18, 2015.

The 2015 Kirkus Prize

At a special ceremony in the penthouse of the Four Seasons Residences in Austin, Kirkus Reviews, the nation’s leading journal of prepublication book reviews, announced the winners of the second annual Kirkus Prize in the categories of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2015

A BRIEF HISTORY OF SEVEN KILLINGS by Marlon James has been awarded the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. The 44-year-old James, now a resident in Minneapolis, is the first Jamaican author to win the prize in its 47-year history.

Anthony Awards 2015

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is pleased to announce the Anthony Award winners for 2015. The Anthony Awards are presented at each annual Bouchercon with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), writer and critic from the New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

Macavity Awards 2015

The Macavity Award winners were announced at the Bouchercon 2015 opening ceremonies.

The Macavity Awards are nominated on and voted on by members of Mystery Readers International, subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal, and friends and supporters of MRI.

Shamus Awards 2015

The winners of the 2015 PWA's Shamus Awards, for works published in 2014, were announced at the PWA Banquet at Bouchercon in Raleigh, North Carolina on October 9th.

Barry Awards 2015

The winners of the Barry Award, presented by Deadly Pleasures magazine, have been announced at the Bouchercon 2015 Opening Ceremonies.

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2015

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2015 has been awarded to the Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich "for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time." Alexievich is the 14th woman to win the literature prize.