Skip to main content


The Nobel Prize for Literature 2013

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize for Literature has annually honored writers who have produced "the most outstanding work in an ideal direction," in genres ranging from poetry, novels and short stories, to essays, speeches and plays. On October 10, 2013, the Swedish Academy awarded their 106th prize to Canadian author Alice Munro, “a master of the contemporary short story.” Munro is known for her many short-story collections, such as RUNAWAY, THE VIEW FROM CASTLE ROCK and TOO MUCH HAPPINESS, as well as her novel LIVES OF GIRLS AND WOMEN.