Skip to main content

The Book of Accidents

About the Book

The Book of Accidents

A family returns to their hometown --- and to the dark past that haunts them still --- in this masterpiece of literary horror by the New York Times bestselling author of WANDERERS.

Long ago, Nathan lived in a house in the country with his abusive father --- and has never told his family what happened there.

Long ago, Maddie was a little girl making dolls in her bedroom when she saw something she shouldn’t have --- and is trying to remember that lost trauma by making haunting sculptures.

Long ago, something sinister, something hungry, walked in the tunnels and the mountains and the coal mines of their hometown in rural Pennsylvania.

Now, Nate and Maddie Graves are married, and they have moved back to their hometown with their son, Oliver.

And now what happened long ago is happening again...and it is happening to Oliver. He meets a strange boy who becomes his best friend, a boy with secrets of his own and a taste for dark magic.

This dark magic puts them at the heart of a battle of good versus evil and a fight for the soul of the family --- and perhaps for all of the world. But the Graves family has a secret weapon in this battle: their love for one another.

The Book of Accidents
by Chuck Wendig