Skip to main content




NEVERWHERE is the newest dark fantasy novel by the prolific Neil Gaiman (creator of the Sandman series.) In it Gaiman takes the most ordinary situations and makes them extraordinary. In our world there are people from every walk of life --- good samaritans, people pursued by hired assasins, liars, cheats, friends, enemies, and everything in between. In NEVERWHERE you find the same thing but with one heck of a twist.
Richard Mayhew is a regular guy, with a regular job, a fiance who drags him around trying to "improve" him, and what he thinks is a happy life. That is --- until the night he discovers a girl on the sidewalk, bleeding, and leaves his fiance to go alone to an important dinner. In the process of taking care of the injured girl, he loses his fiance.
This is the beginning of a journey for Richard --- to a place that only certain people can see. Richard is from London "Above," but he is about to become a part of London "Below." The girl he has rescued is no ordinary street kid and because of his contact with her, he is suddenly not a part of either London.
This most imaginative tale takes you along with Richard --- through his many trials and tribulations, his wonder and his constant longing for home --- as he discovers the teeming world of London "Below." Here, the rules are not the same --- friends become enemies and enemies become friends --- Richard must always be on his guard.  
I raced through this book because it was simply fascinating --- the plot was really new and different. The rich description and character development were a pleasure to read. I found myself happy with the ending, but wishing the story would go on. I even had trouble getting into another book after reading this one. Perhaps Gaiman has left himself room to write a sequel to NEVERWHERE --- I sure hope he does.
   -- Reviewed by BookpgMarL

Reviewed by on January 22, 2011

by Neil Gaiman

  • Publication Date: November 1, 1998
  • Genres: Fiction
  • Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Avon
  • ISBN-10: 0380789019
  • ISBN-13: 9780380789016