Skip to main content

John Lennon: The Life

About the Book

John Lennon: The Life

For more than a quarter century, Philip Norman's internationally bestselling SHOUT! has been unchallenged as the definitive biography of the Beatles. Now, at last, Norman turns his formidable talent to the Beatle for whom belonging to the world's most beloved pop group was never enough. Drawing on previously untapped sources, and with unprecedented access to all the major characters, here is the comprehensive and most revealing portrait of John Lennon that is ever likely to be published.

This masterly biography takes a fresh and penetrating look at every aspect of Lennon's much-chronicled life, including the songs that have turned him, posthumously, into a near–secular saint. In three years of research, Norman has turned up an extraordinary amount of new information about even the best-known episodes of Lennon folklore --- his upbringing by his strict Aunt Mimi; his allegedly wasted school and student days; the evolution of his peerless creative partnership with Paul McCartney; his Beatle-busting love affair with a Japanese performance artist; his forays into painting and literature; his experiments with Transcendental Meditation, primal scream therapy, and drugs. The book's numerous key informants and interviewees include Sir Paul McCartney, Sir George Martin, Sean Lennon --- whose moving reminiscence reveals his father as never before --- and Yoko Ono, who speaks with sometimes shocking candor about the inner workings of her marriage to John.

Honest and unflinching, as John himself would wish, Norman gives us the whole man in all his endless contradictions --- tough and cynical, hilariously funny but also naive, vulnerable and insecure --- and reveals how the mother who gave him away as a toddler haunted his mind and his music for the rest of his days.

John Lennon: The Life
by Philip Norman

  • Publication Date: October 28, 2008
  • Genres: Biography, Music, Nonfiction
  • Hardcover: 864 pages
  • Publisher: Ecco
  • ISBN-10: 006075401X
  • ISBN-13: 9780060754013