Skip to main content

How We Disappeared

About the Book

How We Disappeared

A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, “a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love” (New York Times) --- for fans of PACHINKO and WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, 17-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After 60 years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, 12-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

How We Disappeared
by Jing-Jing Lee

  • Publication Date: May 7, 2019
  • Genres: Fiction, Historical Fiction
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Hanover Square Press
  • ISBN-10: 1335953752
  • ISBN-13: 9781335953759