Mark Ribowsky

Mark Ribowsky is the author of 15 books, including AIN'T TOO PROUD TO BEG: The Troubled Lives and Enduring Soul of the Temptations, the New York Times Notable Book DON'T LOOK BACK: Satchel Paige in the Shadows of Baseball, and, most recently, DREAMS TO REMEMBER: Otis Redding, Stax Records, and the Transformation of Southern Soul. He lives in Florida.

Mark Ribowsky

Books by Mark Ribowsky

by Mark Ribowsky - Biography, Music, Nonfiction

Hank Williams, a frail, flawed man who had become country music’s first real star, instantly morphed into its first tragic martyr when he died in the backseat of a Cadillac at the age of 29. Six decades later, Mark Ribowsky traces the miraculous rise of this music legend --- from the dirt roads of rural Alabama to the now-immortal stage of the Grand Ole Opry, and, finally, to a lonely end on New Year’s Day in 1953. Examining Williams’ chart-topping hits while also recreating days and nights choked in booze and desperation, HANK uncovers the real man beneath the myths, reintroducing us to an American original whose legacy, like a good night at the honkytonk, promises to carry on and on.

by Mark Ribowsky - Biography, Nonfiction, Sports

More than a decade after Tom Landry's death, acclaimed sports biographer Mark Ribowsky finally takes a fresh look at this much-misunderstood legend. THE LAST COWBOY tells us as much about our country's fascination with football as it does about Landry himself.