Jo Baker

Jo Baker was born in Lancashire and educated at Oxford University and Queen’s University Belfast. She is the author of LONGBOURN, a national bestseller and New York Times Notable Book. Her previous novels are THE UNDERTOW, THE TELLING, THE MERMAID'S CHILD and OFFCOMER. She lives in Lancaster, England.

Jo Baker

Books by Jo Baker

by Jo Baker - Fiction, Historical Fiction

In 1939 Paris, the ground rumbles with the footfall of Nazi soldiers marching along the Champs-Élysées, and a young, unknown writer, recently arrived from Ireland to make his mark, smokes one last cigarette with his lover before the city they know is torn apart. Soon he will put them both in mortal danger by joining the Resistance. Through the years that follow, we are witness to the workings of a uniquely brilliant mind struggling to create a language to express a shattered world.

by Jo Baker - Fantasy, Fiction, Historical Fantasy, Historical Fiction

Malin has always been different, and when her father dies, leaving her alone, her choice is clear: stay and remain an outsider forever, or leave in search of the mythical inheritance she is certain awaits her. Apprenticed to a series of strange and wonderful characters, Malin embarks on a grueling journey that crosses oceans and continents --- from the high seas to desert plains --- and leads to a discovery that she never could have expected.

by Jo Baker - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Romance

In Jo Baker's reimagining of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, Sarah, an orphaned housemaid, spends her days scrubbing the laundry, polishing the floors, and emptying the chamber pots for the Bennet household. But there is just as much romance, heartbreak and intrigue downstairs at Longbourn as there is upstairs. When a mysterious new footman arrives, the orderly realm of the servants’ hall threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended.

by Jo Baker - Family, Fiction

The story of the Hastings family --- their secrets, their loves and losses, dreams and heartbreaks --- captured in a series of individual moments that follow four generations of the family between the First World War and the present.