Skip to main content

Summer Reading 2018: June Prize Books

Special Feature

Summer Reading 2018: June Prize Books

Summer will be here before you know it! At Bookreporter.com, this means it's time for us to share some great summer book picks with our Summer Reading Contests and Feature. We will be hosting a series of 24-hour contests for these titles on select days through August 24th, so you will have to check the site each day to see the featured prize book and enter to win. We also will be sending a special newsletter to announce the day's title, which you can sign up for here.

See the prize books being awarded in MayJuly and August.

All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin - Fiction


Nina Browning is living the good life after marrying into Nashville’s elite. Tom Volpe is a single dad working multiple jobs while struggling to raise his headstrong daughter, Lyla. His road has been lonely, long, and hard, but he finally starts to relax after Lyla earns a scholarship. But one photograph snapped in a drunken moment at a party changes everything. At the heart of the lies and scandal, Tom, Nina, and Lyla are forced together --- all questioning their closest relationships, asking themselves who they really are, and searching for the courage to live a life of true meaning.

Before and Again by Barbara Delinsky - Fiction


Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for just a moment but the resulting collision was enough to rob her not only of her beloved daughter but ultimately of her marriage, family, and friends. Now she lives in Vermont under the name Maggie Reid and takes satisfaction in working as a makeup artist at the luxurious local spa. When a friend’s teenage son is thrust into the national spotlight, accused of hacking a powerful man’s Twitter account, Maggie is torn between pulling away and protecting herself --- or stepping into the glare to be at their side. As the stunning truth behind their case is slowly revealed, Maggie’s own carefully constructed story begins to unravel as well.

The Burning Girl by Claire Messud - Fiction


Julia and Cassie have been friends since nursery school. They have shared everything, including their desire to escape the stifling limitations of their birthplace, the quiet town of Royston, Massachusetts. But as the two girls enter adolescence, their paths diverge and Cassie sets out on a journey that will put her life in danger and shatter her oldest friendship. THE BURNING GIRL is a complex examination of the stories we tell ourselves about youth and friendship, and straddles childhood’s imaginary worlds and painful adult reality.

The Cottages on Silver Beach: A Haven Point Novel by RaeAnne Thayne - Fiction


Megan Hamilton never really liked Elliot Bailey. He turned his back on her family and it almost tore them all apart. So, she’s shocked when Elliot arrives at her family’s inn, needing a place to stay and asking questions that dredge up the past. Megan will rent him a cottage, but that’s where it ends. Coming back home to Haven Point was the last thing bestselling writer Elliot Bailey thought he’d ever do. But the book he’s writing now is his most personal one yet and it’s drawn him back to the woman he can’t get out of his mind.

A Daring Venture by Elizabeth Camden - Fiction


As a biochemist in early 1900s New York, Doctor Rosalind Werner has dedicated her life to the crusade against waterborne diseases. She is at the forefront of a groundbreaking technology that will change the way water is delivered to every household in the city --- but only if she can get people to believe in her work. Newly appointed Commissioner of Water for New York Nicholas Drake is highly skeptical of Rosalind and her team’s techniques. When a brewing court case throws him into direct confrontation with her, he is surprised by his reaction to the lovely scientist.

How Hard Can It Be? by Allison Pearson - Fiction


The sequel to Pearson's brilliant debut novel I DON'T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT, HOW HARD CAN IT BE? follows the story of Kate Reddy, who is now facing her 50th birthday. Her children have turned into impossible teenagers; her mother and in-laws are in precarious health; and her husband is having a midlife crisis that leaves her desperate to restart her career after years away from the workplace. Will Kate reclaim her rightful place at the very hedge fund she founded? Will she rekindle an old flame, or will her house burn to the ground when a rowdy mob shows up for her daughter’s surprise to her parent's Christmas party? It must work out. After all, how hard can it be?

Mr. Flood's Last Resort by Jess Kidd - Mystery/Dark Humor


Maud Drennan is a dedicated caregiver whose sunny disposition masks a deep sadness, as a tragic childhood event left her haunted. She keeps to herself, finding solace in her work and in her humble existence --- until she meets Mr. Flood. The lone occupant of a Gothic mansion, Cathal Flood has been waging war against his son’s attempts to put him into an old-age home. Maud is this impossible man’s last chance: if she can help him get the house in order, he just might be able to stay. So the unlikely pair begins to cooperate. Still, shadows are growing in the cluttered corners of the mansion, hinting at buried family secrets, and reminding Maud that she doesn’t really know this man at all.

The Myth of Perpetual Summer by Susan Crandall - Fiction


Tallulah James’s parents’ volatile relationship, erratic behavior, and hands-off approach to child rearing set tongues to wagging in their staid Mississippi town, complicating her already uncertain life. She takes the responsibility of shielding her family’s reputation and raising her younger twin siblings onto her youthful shoulders. If not for the emotional constants of her older brother, Griff, and her old guard Southern grandmother, she would be lost. When betrayal and death arrive hand in hand, she takes to the road, headed to what turns out to be the not-so-promised land of Southern California.

The Patchwork Bride by Sandra Dallas - Fiction


Ellen is putting the finishing touches on a wedding quilt made from scraps of old dresses when the bride-to-be --- her granddaughter June --- unexpectedly arrives and announces she’s calling off the marriage. With the tending of June’s uncertain heart in mind, Ellen tells her the story of Nell, a Kansas-born woman who goes to the High Plains of New Mexico Territory in 1898 in search of a husband. Working as a biscuit-shooter, Nell falls for a cowboy named Buddy. She sees a future together, but she can’t help wondering if his feelings for her are true. When Buddy breaks her heart, she runs away. 

A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza - Fiction


A PLACE FOR US unfolds the lives of an Indian-American Muslim family, gathered together in their Californian hometown to celebrate the eldest daughter, Hadia’s, wedding --- a match of love rather than tradition. It is here, on this momentous day, that Amar, the youngest of the siblings, reunites with his family for the first time in three years. Rafiq and Layla must now contend with the choices and betrayals that lead to their son’s estrangement --- the reckoning of parents who strove to pass on their cultures and traditions to their children; and of children who in turn struggle to balance authenticity in themselves with loyalty to the home they came from.

Slowly We Die by Emelie Schepp - Fiction


A tragic incident on the operating table leaves a patient damaged for life and leads a young surgeon to abandon his profession as a physician. Now, years later, a series of senseless, gruesome murders are rocking the same medical community. The weapon? A surgical scalpel. But who exactly is preying on these victims? Special prosecutor Jana Berzelius is in charge of the investigation. What she can’t know, until she is finally closing in on the murderer, is just how her own mother’s recent death is intimately connected. This intricately plotted and relentlessly suspenseful medical thriller keeps everyone guessing until the bitter end.

The Summer List by Amy Mason Doan - Fiction


In the tradition of Judy Blume’s SUMMER SISTERS, THE SUMMER LIST is a tender yet tantalizing novel about two friends, the summer night they fell apart, and the scavenger hunt that reunites them decades later --- until the clues expose a breathtaking secret that just might shatter them once and for all.

Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell - Psychological Thriller


Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It’s been 10 years since her daughter, Ellie, disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie’s case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a café, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she’s meeting Floyd’s daughters --- and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel’s breath away. Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions about Ellie's disappearance that she has tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew.

Us Against You by Fredrik Backman - Fiction


Beartown is small community of tough, hardworking people who don’t expect life to be easy or fair and they have always been able to take pride in their local ice hockey team. So it’s a cruel blow when they hear that Beartown ice hockey might soon be disbanded and the former players now play for a rival team. As the tension mounts between the two adversaries, a newcomer arrives who gives Beartown hockey a surprising new coach and a chance at a comeback. As the big game approaches, the not-so-innocent pranks and incidents between the communities pile up and their mutual contempt intensifies. By the time the last goal is scored, a resident of Beartown will be dead, and the people of both towns will be forced to wonder if, after everything, the game they love can ever return to something as simple and innocent as a field of ice, two nets, and two teams.