Skip to main content

The Man Booker International Prize 2015


The Man Booker International Prize 2015

Innovative Hungarian writer László Krasznahorkai is the winner of the sixth Man Booker International Prize at an award ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

Born in 1954, Krasznahorkai gained considerable recognition in 1985 when he published SATANTANGO, which he later adapted for the cinema in collaboration with the filmmaker Bela Tarr.  In 1993, he received the German Bestenliste Prize for the best literary work of the year for THE MELANCHOLY OF RESISTANCE and has since been honored with numerous literary prizes, amongst them the highest award of the Hungarian state, the Kossuth Prize.

The Man Booker International Prize, worth £60,000, is awarded for an achievement in fiction on the world stage. It is presented once every two years to a living author for a body of work published either originally in English or available in translation in the English language. It has previously been awarded to Ismail Kadaré in 2005, Chinua Achebe in 2007, Alice Munro in 2009, Philip Roth in 2011 and Lydia Davis in 2013.

For more about The Man Booker International Prize, go to


2015 Winner


  • László Krasznahorkai (Hungary)


2015 Finalists


  • César Aira (Argentina)
  • Hoda Barakat (Lebanon)
  • Maryse Condé (Guadeloupe)
  • Mia Couto (Mozambique)
  • Amitav Ghosh (India)
  • Fanny Howe (United States of America)
  • Ibrahim al-Koni (Libya)
  • László Krasznahorkai (Hungary)
  • Alain Mabanckou (Republic of Congo)
  • Marlene van Niekerk (South Africa)