Skip to main content

Indies Choice and E.B. White Book Awards 2015


Indies Choice and E.B. White Book Awards 2015

The American Booksellers Association (ABA) has announced the winners of the 2015 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards, as voted by independent booksellers nationwide.

“This year’s winners and honor award recipients are representative of the outstanding titles hand-sold at ABA member stores nationwide,” said ABA CEO Oren Teicher. “We congratulate their authors and illustrators and look forward to honoring them at this year’s Celebration of Bookselling and Author Awards Lunch at BEA.”

For a complete list of this year's winners and Honor Awards, click here.



2015 Winners


Adult Fiction Book of the Year
ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony Doerr (Scribner)

Adult Nonfiction Book of the Year
BEING MORTAL: Medicine and What Matters in the End, by Atul Gawande (Metropolitan Books)

Adult Debut Book of the Year
THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir (Crown)

Young Adult Book of the Year
THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST by Holly Black (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

The winners of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards, reflecting the playful, well-paced language, the engaging themes, and the universal appeal embodied by E.B. White’s collection of beloved books, are:

E. B. White Read-Aloud Award - Middle Reader
BROWN GIRL DREAMING by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen Books)

E. B. White Read-Aloud Award - Picture Book
SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE written by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen (Candlewick)

The Indie Champion Award is presented to the author or illustrator who booksellers feel has the best sense of the importance of independent bookstores to their communities at large and the strongest personal commitment to foster and support the mission and passion of independent booksellers. This year’s winners are:

Indie Champion Award
Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer (HarperCollins/Hachette)