Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

The Illusionists

Destined to be one of the most-loved books of summer 2014, for fans of THE NIGHT CIRCUS and WATER FOR ELEPHANTS.

Over the course of a brilliant career, bestselling novelist Rosie Thomas has earned an untold number of awards and the devotion of millions of loyal readers. Her new novel, THE ILLUSIONISTS, set in London in 1870, is a thrilling step forward --- a captivating tale of passion and intrigue in the theater world.

At the start of THE ILLUSIONISTS, we meet Eliza, a young, beautiful woman of limited means. Through her work as an artist’s model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil --- a born showman whose dream is to run his own theater company. Devil’s righthand man is Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf with an enormous talent for all things magic and illusion. And then there is Jasper Button, the enigmatic, unlikely final member of this fascinating cast of characters. Thrown together by a twist of fate, their lives are inextricably linked. As Eliza gets sucked into their seductive and dangerous world, she risks not only her heart, but also her life, which is soon thrown into peril.

The Illusionists
by Rosie Thomas

  • Publication Date: June 26, 2014
  • Genres: Fiction, Historical Fiction
  • Hardcover: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Overlook Hardcover
  • ISBN-10: 1468309900
  • ISBN-13: 9781468309904