Skip to main content

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"

About the Book

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey and David Sedaris, this hilarious, wise and fiercely candid collection of personal essays establishes Lena Dunham --- the acclaimed creator, producer and star of HBO’s "Girls" --- as one of the most original young talents writing today.
 
In NOT THAT KIND OF GIRL, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one’s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being 10 pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told.
 
“Take My Virginity (No Really, Take It)” is the account of Dunham’s first time, and how her expectations of sex didn’t quite live up to the actual event (“No floodgate had been opened, no vault of true womanhood unlocked”); “Girls & Jerks” explores her former attraction to less-than-nice guys --- guys who had perfected the “dynamic of disrespect” she found so intriguing; “Is This Even Real?” is a meditation on her lifelong obsession with death and dying --- what she calls her “genetically predestined morbidity.” And in “I Didn’t F*** Them, but They Yelled at Me,” she imagines the tell-all she will write when she is eighty and past caring, able to reflect honestly on the sexism and condescension she has encountered in Hollywood, where women are “treated like the paper thingies that protect glasses in hotel bathrooms --- necessary but infinitely disposable.”
 
Exuberant, moving and keenly observed, NOT THAT KIND OF GIRL is a series of dispatches from the frontlines of the struggle that is growing up. “I’m already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you,” Dunham writes. “But if I can take what I’ve learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile.”

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"
by Lena Dunham

  • Publication Date: September 30, 2014
  • Genres: Entertainment, Essays, Memoir, Nonfiction
  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Random House
  • ISBN-10: 081299499X
  • ISBN-13: 9780812994995