Skip to main content

If Not for You

Review

If Not for You

Beth Prudhomme is more than ready to take control of her own life. A lifetime with her loving but controlling parents has led her away from her Chicago home and into a new world --- Portland, Oregon. Living with her whimsical Aunt Sunshine --- the sister and polar opposite of Beth’s mother --- is just what Beth needs. Especially when she gets a teaching job at a nearby school. But when Beth agrees to go on a blind date, she never could have foreseen the evening’s tragic ending, or the surprising way it would alter the course of her life.

Sam Carney isn’t happy about getting talked into a blind date, and knows for certain it was a mistake when he meets Beth. He was perfectly happy with his trade school education and job as a mechanic, but one look at Beth, and he knew she was the type that would never take a glance at a long-haired, tattooed guy like him. “She was exactly what he’d expected, what he dreaded most. Everything about her --- from the way she stood, shoulders and back straight --- spoke of education and breeding.”

"Likable characters, a compelling plot, and just enough conflict to keep things interesting make this an enjoyable read and the perfect book to share with mothers, sisters and friends."

The last thing Sam wants is a romance, especially after what happened 13 years ago. He’s fine with the one-night stands he meets at the bar, downing a few beers with his friends, and playing his guitar. It’s painfully clear that Beth has no place in that picture.

For Beth and Sam, the evening with mutual friends seems to last an eternity. But when it finally ends and they head home in separate cars, Sam finds himself witnessing a horrific accident, helpless to prevent it. Seriously injured, Beth is taken to the hospital with Sam by her side. Surprisingly compelled to check on her the next day, Sam visits again…and again. They talk. They text. They play music together, with Beth on piano and Sam on guitar. They kiss. And there, amidst the antiseptic environment of the hospital room, and later at the rehabilitation center, love blooms.

But all is not perfect in paradise. There’s a woman’s name tattooed over Sam’s heart --- a heart that Beth wants all to herself. And there’s Beth’s mother, who surely will not approve of this pairing. In fact, Beth knows that one look at Sam will send her mother right over the edge. Then there’s the mysterious divide between her mother and Aunt Sunshine, and an equally mysterious man from long ago who broke Aunt Sunshine’s heart and may have played a role in the rift between Beth’s mother and aunt. What if she could find him?

As Beth continues to heal, and her feelings for Sam grow stronger, she’s certain he feels the same. But as secrets come to light, and the past catches up with the future, Beth crosses a line. Her actions create a chasm between her and Sam, and she fears it may just be too wide to cross.

IF NOT FOR YOU is a light and easy romance, perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber’s work or anyone who loves heartstrings and happy endings. Likable characters, a compelling plot, and just enough conflict to keep things interesting make this an enjoyable read and the perfect book to share with mothers, sisters and friends.

Reviewed by Susan Miura on March 31, 2017

If Not for You
by Debbie Macomber

  • Publication Date: August 22, 2017
  • Genres: Fiction, Women's Fiction
  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • ISBN-10: 0553391984
  • ISBN-13: 9780553391985