About the Book

The Cartographer of No Man's Land

by P. S. Duffy

From a hardscrabble village in Nova Scotia to the collapsing trenches of France, a debut novel about a family divided by World War I.

In the tradition of Robert Goolrick’s A RELIABLE WIFE and Karl Marlantes’s MATTERHORN, P. S. Duffy’s astonishing debut showcases a rare and instinctive talent emerging in midlife. Her novel leaps across the Atlantic, between a father at war and a son coming of age at home without him.

When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief. With the intimacy of THE SONG OF ACHILLES and the epic scope of THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE, THE CARTOGRAPHER OF NO MAN'S LAND offers a soulful portrayal of World War I and the lives that were forever changed by it, both on the battlefield and at home.

The Cartographer of No Man's Land
by P. S. Duffy

  • Publication Date: June 2, 2014
  • Genres: Fiction, Historical Fiction
  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Liveright
  • ISBN-10: 0871407779
  • ISBN-13: 9780871407771