Review

Sovereign: The Books of Mortals, Book 3

by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

In this third and final installment of The Books of Mortals, bestselling authors Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee offer their readers a fast-paced ride to see how these intriguing characters will find their ultimate rest. They open their text with a brief recap of the previous two books, FORBIDDEN and MORTAL, so that even those who haven’t read them can jump right into the action with SOVEREIGN.

In 2005, geneticists discovered the human gene that controls fear in all its forms, innate and learned. They called it Strathmin, or Oncoprotein 18. In the wake of another catastrophic war, the new Order was established to do away with these negative emotions. The first Sovereign unleashed a virus called Legion that stripped all humanity of emotion except one: fear. Humanity no longer felt hope, love and joy, but it also no longer felt hatred, malice, or anger. Peace reigned for 500 years.

"Fans of Dekker and Lee won’t be disappointed as they devour this page-turner, seeking the conclusion to what often appears as a no-win scenario. Boldly creative, these authors have fine-tuned their imaginations and set them to words in this otherworldly adventure."

A sect called the Keepers, who guarded the secret that every soul on earth was actually dead, believed that one day the viral code introduced by Legion would revert in the blood of a single child who would become the Sovereign of the world. This prediction came true when Jonathan was born and the Mortals protected him. Jonathan’s enemy, Saric (the first Dark Blood), wanted to rid the world of the Mortal, but his half-sister Feyn took power as the first Sovereign. Saric killed Jonathan and vanished into the wilderness.

Rom Sebastian and Jordin, who continued to follow Jonathan’s teachings, renamed themselves Sovereigns, and those who rejected Jonathan’s blood called themselves Immortals. Roland, Prince of the Nomads, leads them. Six years have passed since Feyn began her rule and the Mortals were divided into Sovereigns and Immortals. Feyn has ordered they all be killed, and now only a few Sovereigns remain hidden under the city.

Under this complicated back story, the authors set up the conclusion to the series, where Rom places himself under the power of Feyn in a last-ditch effort to salvage what’s left of those who follow Jonathan. Only 49 truly alive followers remain loyal to Rom, and even his desperate act to prove that love overcomes all has some doubting his actions.

Jordin makes her own journey for survival as she enters Roland’s enemy camp, and the unthinkable happens as she is transformed. The question of loyalty again arises as her blood changes and she understands the temptations others have faced. In an epic battle for good over evil, all these forces collide to create a most surprising and satisfying ending. Fans of Dekker and Lee won’t be disappointed as they devour this page-turner, seeking the conclusion to what often appears as a no-win scenario. Boldly creative, these authors have fine-tuned their imaginations and set them to words in this otherworldly adventure.

Reviewed by Michele Howe on July 26, 2013

Sovereign: The Books of Mortals, Book 3
by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

  • Publication Date: October 1, 2013
  • Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Suspense, Thriller
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: FaithWords
  • ISBN-10: 1599953609
  • ISBN-13: 9781599953601