Review

Christmas in Harmony

by Philip Gulley

Bestselling author Philip Gulley takes readers back to Hamony,
Indiana with a holiday tale full of equal parts of humor and
wisdom. Pastor Sam Gardner of the Quaker church, Harmony Friends
Meeting, has a situation on his hands --- what to do about the
annual holiday celebration. After years of a traditional Christmas
Eve holiday service at the meeting house, a tolling of the bells
and Christmas cookies in the basement, there's now a call by one of
the church elders for a Progessive Nativity Scene, where
churchgoers will weave their way through the town enjoying the
nativity scene as they walk. The idea has spawned much discussion
and a lot of talk about things that keep parishoners from focusing
on the real meaning of the holiday.

Fans of Garrison Keillor and Jan Karon will enjoy Gulley. The
best part is that if you enjoy this book, there are two other
Gulley titles to explore.

If you want to give more than a book, here are some gift
suggestions to pair with this: homemade holiday cookies, great
chocolate for hot chocolate or a copy of the Gospel According to
Luke.

Reviewed by Carol Fitzgerald on January 24, 2011

Christmas in Harmony
by Philip Gulley

  • Publication Date: October 1, 2002
  • Genres: Fiction
  • Hardcover: 96 pages
  • Publisher: HarperOne
  • ISBN-10: 0060520124
  • ISBN-13: 9780060520120