Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan was born on June 21, 1948 in Aldershot, England. He studied at the University of Sussex, where he received a BA degree in English Literature in 1970. He received his MA degree in English Literature at the University of East Anglia.

McEwan's works have earned him worldwide critical acclaim. He won the Somerset Maugham Award in 1976 for his first collection of short stories FIRST LOVE, LAST RITES; the Whitbread Novel Award (1987) and the Prix Fémina Etranger (1993) for THE CHILD IN TIME; and Germany's Shakespeare Prize in 1999. He has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction numerous times, winning the award for AMSTERDAM in 1998. His novel ATONEMENT received the WH Smith Literary Award (2002), National Book Critics' Circle Fiction Award (2003), Los Angeles Times Prize for Fiction (2003), and the Santiago Prize for the European Novel (2004). He was awarded a CBE in 2000. In 2006, he won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for his novel SATURDAY, and his novel ON CHESIL BEACH was named Galaxy Book of the Year at the 2008 British Book Awards. McEwan has been named the Reader's Digest Author of the Year for 2008, the 2010 Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award, and in 2011 was awarded the Jerusalem Prize.

McEwan lives in London. His new novel is SWEET TOOTH.

Ian McEwan

Books by Ian McEwan

by Ian McEwan - Family & Relationships, Fiction, Literary Fiction

Fiona Maye is a intelligent and respected judge presiding over cases in family court. But Fiona's professional success belies domestic strife. Her husband moves out, leaving her adrift and wondering whether it was not love she had lost so much as a modern form of respectability. Meanwhile, she must deal with a complex case involving a seventeen-year-old boy whose Jehovah's Witness parents will not permit a lifesaving blood transfusion. The pressure to resolve the case-as well as her crumbling marriage-tests Fiona in ways that will keep readers thoroughly enthralled until the last stunning page.

by Ian McEwan - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Romance

Set in 1972 during the Cold War, England's legendary intelligence agency MI5 embarks on an operation code-named "Sweet Tooth" to fund writers whose politics align with those of the government. Cambridge student Serena Frome is hired to infiltrate the literary circle of a promising young writer named Tom Haley. But when she begins to fall in love with him, she wonders how long she can conceal her undercover life.

by Ian McEwan - Fiction

Ian McEwan's symphonic novel of love and war, childhood and class, guilt and forgiveness provides all the satisfaction of a brilliant narrative and the provocation we have come to expect from this master of English prose.