Skip to main content

The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia by Candace Fleming

August 2014

Here is the tumultuous and heartrending true story of the Romanovs --- at once an intimate portrait of Russia's last royal family and a gripping account of its undoing. Using captivating photos and compelling first person accounts, award-winning author Candace Fleming deftly maneuvers between the imperial family’s extravagant lives and the plight of Russia's poor masses.

Wild Things!: Acts of Mischief in Children's Literature by Betsy Bird

August 2014

A treasure trove of information for a student, librarian, new parent, or anyone wondering about the post-Harry Potter book biz, WILD THINGS! draws on the combined knowledge and research of three respected and popular librarian-bloggers. It chronicles some of the feuds and fights, errors and secret messages found in children’s books and brings contemporary illumination to the warm-and-fuzzy bunny world we think we know.

Amity by Micol Ostow

August 2014

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break. But something is not right about this secluded house. Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister by Amelie Sarn

August 2014

Eighteen-year-old Sohane and her younger sister, Djelila, have always shared everything. But now, Djelila is embracing her life as a secular teen, and Sohane is becoming more religious. Djelila is repeatedly harassed by neighborhood bullies for not following Muslim customs. In the year following Djelila’s tragic death, Sohane struggles with her feelings of loss and guilt, revealing a complex relationship between two sisters and the consequences they face for being true to themselves.

Frida & Diego: Art, Love, Life by Catherine Reef

August 2014

Nontraditional, controversial, rebellious and politically volatile, the Mexican artists Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera are remembered for their provocative paintings, as well as for their deep love for each other. Their marriage was one of the most tumultuous and infamous in history --- filled with passion, pain, betrayal, revolution and, above all, art that helped define the 20th century. Catherine Reef's dual biography features numerous archival photos and full-color reproductions of both artists' work.

Which of the following best describes your newspaper reading habits?

August 21, 2014, 6 voters

Elaine Dundy

I find I always have to write something on a steamed mirror.

Attribution

Elaine Dundy

Editorial Content for Frida & Diego: Art, Love, Life

Contributors

Reviewer (text)

Yaira M., Teen Board Member

Any piece of biographical work deserves a plethora of applause, since it takes an intense amount of work to produce a piece on the entire existence of a human life. But when two people are the biographical specimens, one can only imagine the countless hours spent leafing through books, studies and museum inventories. FRIDA & DIEGO: Art, Love, Life is a precise view into the minds and lives of two of Mexico’s most famed artists. Read More

Teaser

Nontraditional, controversial, rebellious and politically volatile, the Mexican artists Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera are remembered for their provocative paintings, as well as for their deep love for each other. Their marriage was one of the most tumultuous and infamous in history --- filled with passion, pain, betrayal, revolution and, above all, art that helped define the 20th century. Catherine Reef's dual biography features numerous archival photos and full-color reproductions of both artists' work.

Promo

Nontraditional, controversial, rebellious and politically volatile, the Mexican artists Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera are remembered for their provocative paintings, as well as for their deep love for each other. Their marriage was one of the most tumultuous and infamous in history --- filled with passion, pain, betrayal, revolution and, above all, art that helped define the 20th century. Catherine Reef's dual biography features numerous archival photos and full-color reproductions of both artists' work.

About the Book

Nontraditional, controversial, rebellious and politically volatile, the Mexican artists Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera are remembered for their provocative paintings, as well as for their deep love for each other. Their marriage was one of the most tumultuous and infamous in history --- filled with passion, pain, betrayal, revolution and, above all, art that helped define the 20th century.

Catherine Reef's inspiring and insightful dual biography features numerous archival photos and full-color reproductions of both artists' work.

Editorial Content for Amity

Book

Contributors

Reviewer (text)

Corinne Fox

Ostow’s first venture into horror is her contribution to the significant and distinct quasi-mythos that is the Amityville Horror house. The subject of both good and bad films and a true crime novel about a family murder that happened in the eponymous house, the story of the evil house of Amity is one that combines both the well-received tropes of innate, unexplained evil and haunted houses, and the chilling component of being a part of a real life incident. Read More

Teaser

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break. But something is not right about this secluded house. Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Promo

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break. But something is not right about this secluded house. Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

About the Book

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, AMITY is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.

Oscar Wilde

Always borrow money from a pessimist. He won’t expect it back.

Attribution

Oscar Wilde