Skip to main content

Sue Monk Kidd


Sue Monk Kidd

Sue Monk Kidd is the author of three novels: THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES, THE MERMAID CHAIR, and, most recently, THE INVENTION OF WINGS. THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES spent more than two and a half years on the New York Times bestseller list, was adapted into an award-winning movie, and has been translated into 36 languages. THE MERMAID CHAIR, a #1 New York Times bestseller, was adapted into a television movie. She is also the author of the memoirs THE DANCE OF THE DISSIDENT DAUGHTER, WHEN THE HEART WAITS, and, with her daughter Ann Kidd Taylor, the New York Times bestseller TRAVELING WITH POMEGRANATES. Her early writings on spirituality are collected in the book FIRSTLIGHT. The recipient of numerous literary awards, Sue lives in southwest Florida with her husband, Sandy, and their black Lab, Lily.

Sue Monk Kidd

Books by Sue Monk Kidd

by Sue Monk Kidd - Fiction, Historical Fiction

Hetty “Handful” Grimke, an urban slave, yearns for life beyond the suffocating walls that enclose her within the wealthy Grimke household. On her 11th birthday, Sarah Grimke is given ownership of Handful. We follow their remarkable journeys over the next 35 years, as both strive for a life of their own, dramatically shaping each other’s destinies, and forming a complex relationship marked by guilt, defiance, estrangement and the uneasy ways of love.

by Sue Monk Kidd - Historical Fiction

Set in South Carolina in 1964, THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES is the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's fiercest racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina --- a town that holds the secret to her mother's past.