Skip to main content

P. D. James


P. D. James

P. D. James is the author of 20 previous books, most of which have been filmed and broadcast on television in the United States and other countries. She spent 30 years in various departments of the British Civil Service, including the Police and Criminal Law Departments of Great Britain’s Home Office. She has served as a magistrate and as a governor of the BBC. In 2000 she celebrated her eightieth birthday and published her autobiography, TIME TO BE IN EARNEST. The recipient of many prizes and honors, she was created Baroness James of Holland Park in 1991 and was inducted into the International Crime Writing Hall of Fame in 2008. She lives in London and Oxford.

P. D. James

Books by P. D. James

by P. D. James - Collection, Fiction, Mystery, Short Stories

Four previously uncollected stories from one of the great mystery writers of our time. The newly appointed Sgt. Adam Dalgliesh is drawn into a case that is “pure Agatha Christie.” A respectable clerk’s secret taste for pornography is only the the first reason he finds for not coming forward as a witness to murder...A best-selling crime novelist describes a crime she herself was involved in 50 years earlier...Dalgliesh’s godfather implores him to reinvestigate a notorious murder that will reveal a truth even the upstanding Dalgliesh will keep to himself.

by P. D. James - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical Mystery, Mystery

Inspired by a lifelong passion for Jane Austen, mystery writer P. D. James draws the characters of Austen’s beloved novel PRIDE AND PREJUDICE into a tale of murder and emotional mayhem.