Skip to main content

Archives - April 2007

Interview: Wendy Corsi Staub, author of Don't Scream

Apr 27, 2007

April 27, 2007

Wendy Corsi Staub realized at the age of eight that she wanted to be an author and has since published over 60 books. In this interview with Bookreporter.com's Joe Hartlaub, Staub recounts the event that inspired the plot of her latest novel, DON'T SCREAM, and describes her rigorous work schedule and ethic that allow her to divide her time equally between her career and family. She also names some of the authors who have influenced her work, compares and contrasts writing series and stand-alone novels, and shares what she has in store for the next year.

Interview: Paula Wall, author of The Wilde Women

Apr 27, 2007

April 27, 2007

Paula Wall is the author of MY LOVE IS FREE...BUT THE REST OF ME DON'T COME CHEAP and IF I WERE A MAN, I'D MARRY ME --- two collections of her "Off the Wall" syndicated columns --- as well as the novels THE ROCK ORCHARD and the newly released THE WILDE WOMEN.

Interview: Cathy Lamb, author of Julia's Chocolates

Apr 27, 2007

April 27, 2007

JULIA'S CHOCOLATES by Cathy Lamb is a poignant and funny tale about a woman who leaves her abusive fiancé at the altar and starts anew with the help of an eccentric group of friends and family --- and some indulgent desserts. In this interview with Bookreporter.com's Alexis Burling, Lamb shares her thoughts on some of the weighty issues addressed in the book, such as domestic violence and abusive relationships, and lets women know how they can avoid some of the same pitfalls her characters experience.

Interview: Karen Robards, author of Obsession

Apr 13, 2007

April 13, 2007

In this interview conducted by Bookreporter.com's Jen Krieger, Karen Robards --- whose 34th book is OBSESSION --- discusses various aspects of her writing process, such as mapping out finer details within the grander scale of her work and how she plans the plots of her novels around her characters instead of vice versa. She also explains why she likes to inject humor into all of her stories and shares a memorable encounter with one of her many fans.

Interview: Beverly Barton, author of The Dying Game

Apr 13, 2007

April 13, 2007

Bestselling author Beverly Barton has written over 60 books, including CLOSE ENOUGH TO KILL, KILLING HER SOFTLY and THE LAST TO DIE. In this interview with Bookreporter.com's Hillary Wagy, Barton discusses how she became inspired to write her latest novel, THE DYING GAME, and explains the motivations and inner workings behind its main characters, Judd Walker and Lindsay McAllister.

Interview: Anne Lamott, author of Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith

Apr 6, 2007

April 6, 2007

Anne Lamott's writing is witty, often profane and deeply authentic. In GRACE (EVENTUALLY) she continues in the vein of TRAVELING MERCIES and PLAN B, chronicling her life as a Christian, liberal, parent and friend. As she embarks on her latest book tour, Bookreporter.com's Cindy Crosby chats with Lamott about middle age, living with a teenager, her new mellow outlook on life and what she considers the greatest joy of all.

Interview: Masha Hamilton, author of The Camel Bookmobile

Apr 6, 2007

April 6, 2007

Masha Hamilton has worked for the Los Angeles Times, The Associated Press and NBC-Mutual Radio, and is the author of THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US and STAIRCASE OF A THOUSAND STEPS. In this interview with Bookreporter.com's Alexis Burling, Hamilton discusses the real project that inspired her latest novel, THE CAMEL BOOKMOBILE, and elaborates on some of the themes covered in the book regarding the clash of disparate cultures and the ways in which Americans approach issues overseas.

Interview: Sandra Dallas, author of Tallgrass

Apr 6, 2007

April 6, 2007

Author and journalist Sandra Dallas has written 10 nonfiction books and seven novels, including her latest work of fiction, TALLGRASS. In this interview with Bookreporter.com's Alexis Burling, Dallas describes the past and current events that inspired this story, which revolves around Japanese internment camps during World War II, and discusses the amount of research she conducted in preparation for the book. She also reveals some of her characters' real-life counterparts, explains how the elements of the plot have evolved during the writing process and shares what she hopes readers will take away from the novel.