Skip to main content

Archives - February 2005

Interview: Michele Martinez, author of Most Wanted: A Novel of Suspense

Feb 18, 2005

February 18, 2005

Bookreporter.com's Suspense/Thriller Author Spotlight Team (Carol Fitzgerald, Joe Hartlaub and Wiley Saichek) interviewed Michele Martinez, author of MOST WANTED. Martinez discusses her transition from prosecutor to crime fiction writer, the significance of her protagonist's Hispanic roots, and the challenging and rewarding aspects of writing her first novel.

Interview: Julian Fellowes, author of Snobs

Feb 18, 2005

February 18, 2005

Narrated by an actor with an aristocratic pedigree, SNOBS is a delicious social satire set in 1990s England, in which a beautiful middle-class young woman claws her way into British society by marrying a dim-witted earl. Though its setting is modern, the wry sensibility and gimlet-eyed deconstruction of social morays put SNOBS firmly in the tradition of Jane Austen, E.F. Benson (especially the "Lucia" series) and Anthony Trollope. Julian Fellowes talks with Bookreporter.com's Bella Stander about mental toughness, second chances and the tribulations of the acting life.

Interview: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, author of The Effects of Light

Feb 4, 2005

February 4, 2005

Bookreporter.com Co-Founder Carol Fitzgerald and contributing writer Shannon McKenna interview debut novelist Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, author of THE EFFECTS OF LIGHT. Beverly-Whittemore talks about her inspiration for writing the book and addresses a central aspect of the novel that is likely to be a hot button issue with some readers. She also discusses the significance of the title, how her favorite writers have influenced her, and what her next project will be.

Author Talk: Daniel Silva, author of Prince of Fire

Feb 1, 2005

February 2005

In this interview Daniel Silva talks about his interest in the Arab-Israeli conflict, shares why he chose this moment to write about terrorism and sheds light on his character Gabriel Allon, as well as revealing some of his personal reflections on researching PRINCE OF FIRE.