Skip to main content

Maggie O'Farrell


Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O’Farrell was born in Northern Ireland in 1972, and grew up in Wales and Scotland. She now lives in Edinburgh with her family.

Her debut novel, AFTER YOU’D GONE, was published to international acclaim, and won a Betty Trask Award, while her third, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, won the 2005 Somerset Maugham Award.

Maggie O'Farrell

Books by Maggie O'Farrell

by Maggie O'Farrell - Fiction

Gretta Riordan awakes one morning to find that her husband of 40 years has vanished, cleaning out his bank account along the way. Her three grown children converge on their parents’ home for the first time in years: Michael Francis, whose marriage is failing; Monica, with two stepdaughters who despise her; and Aoife, who has arranged her entire life to conceal a devastating secret.