Skip to main content

Liz Murray

Biography

Liz Murray

Liz Murray

BIO

Liz Murray completed high school and won a New York Times
scholarship while homeless, and graduated from Harvard University
in 2009. She has been awarded The White House Project Role Model
Award, a Christopher Award, as well as the Chutzpah Award, which
was given to Liz by Oprah Winfrey. Lifetime Television produced a
film about Liz’s life, “Homeless to Harvard: The Liz
Murray Story.” Today, she travels the world to deliver
motivational speeches and workshops to inspire others. Liz is the
founder and director of Manifest Trainings, a New York–based
company that empowers adults to create the results they want in
their own lives.

Liz Murray

Books by Liz Murray

by Liz Murray - Memoir, Nonfiction

Written in the vein of THE GLASS CASTLE, BREAKING NIGHT is the stunning memoir of a young woman who was born to loving but drug-addicted parents. Taunted for her dirty clothes and lice-infested hair, Liz Murray skipped so many classes as a child that she was put into a girls' home. At age 15 she was sleeping on the streets…and two years later, she found herself at Harvard.