Skip to main content

Kate Christensen

Biography

Kate Christensen

Kate Christensen is the author of IN THE DRINK, JEREMY THRANE, THE EPICURE'S LAMENT, TROUBLE, THE ASTRAL and BLUE PLATE SPECIAL. THE GREAT MAN won the 2008 PEN/Faulkner Award. She has written reviews and essays for numerous publications, most recently the New York Times Book Review, Bookforum, Tin House and Elle.

Kate Christensen

Books by Kate Christensen

by Kate Christensen - Food, Memoir, Nonfiction

In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin and Ruth Reichl, BLUE PLATE SPECIAL is a narrative in which food --- eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it --- becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Kate Christensen explores her history of hunger --- not just for food, but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging --- with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists.

by Kate Christensen - Literary Fiction, Women's Fiction

The Astral is a huge rose-colored old pile of an apart­ment building in the gentrifying neighborhood of Greenpoint, Brooklyn. For decades it was the home of the poet Harry Quirk, his wife, Luz, and their two children. But Luz has found (and destroyed) some poems of Harry’s that ignite her long-simmering sus­picions of infidelity, and he’s been kicked out. Now he must reckon with the consequence of his literary, marital, financial and parental failures.