Skip to main content

Jeanette Winterson


Jeanette Winterson

Born in Manchester, England, Jeanette Winterson is the author of 17 books, including the national bestseller WHY BE HAPPY WHEN YOU COULD BE NORMAL?, ORANGES ARE NOT THE ONLY FRUIT and THE PASSION. She has won many prizes, including the Whitbread Award for Best First Novel, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the E. M. Forster Award and the Stonewall Award.

Jeanette Winterson

Books by Jeanette Winterson

by Jeanette Winterson - Fiction, Holiday, Short Stories

For years Jeanette Winterson has loved writing a new story at Christmas time, and here she brings together 12 of them --- plus a personal story of her own Christmas memories. These tales give the reader a portal into the spirit of the season, where time slows down and magic starts to happen. From trees with mysterious powers to a tinsel baby that talks, philosophical fairies to flying dogs, a haunted house and a disappearing train, Winterson's innovative stories encompass the childlike and spooky wonder of Christmas.

by Jeanette Winterson - Fiction

In THE GAP OF TIME, Jeanette Winterson’s cover version of "The Winter's Tale" (one of Shakespeare’s “late plays”), we move from London, a city reeling after the 2008 financial crisis, to a storm-ravaged American city called New Bohemia. Her story is one of childhood friendship, money, status, technology and the elliptical nature of time; of the consuming power of jealousy on the one hand, and redemption and the enduring love of a lost child on the other.

by Jeanette Winterson - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Horror

Good Friday, 1612. Pendle Forest. A gathering of 13 is interrupted by local magistrate Roger Nowell. Is this a coven or a helpless group of women trying to save their family from the stake? Two already stand accused of witchcraft. The wealthy, respected Alice Nutter tries to defend them, haunted by her own past entanglement with magick. She doesn't believe in the Devil, but as she fights for justice, her life is endangered by forces visible and invisible.

by Jeanette Winterson - Nonfiction

WHY BE HAPPY WHEN YOU COULD BE NORMAL? is a memoir about a life’s work to find happiness. It's a book full of stories: about a girl locked out of her home, sitting on the doorstep all night; about growing up in an north England industrial town now changed beyond recognition; about the Universe as Cosmic Dustbin.