Skip to main content

Evan Thomas


Evan Thomas

Evan Thomas is the author of several bestselling works of history including THE WAR LOVERS, ROBERT KENNEDY, SEA OF THUNDER and, with Walter Isaacson, THE WISE MEN. Currently teaching at Princeton University, he lives in Washington, D.C.

Evan Thomas

Books by Evan Thomas

written by Evan Thomas, read by Brian Troxell - History, Nonfiction, Politics

Upon assuming the presidency in 1953, Dwight Eisenhower set about to make good on his campaign promise to end the Korean War. He would take a colossal risk by bluffing that he might use nuclear weapons against the Communist Chinese, while at the same time restraining his generals and advisors who favored the strikes. Ike's gamble was of such magnitude that there could be but two outcomes: thousands of lives saved, or millions of lives lost.

by Walter Isaacson and Evan Thomas - American, Biography, Historical , International Relations

These are the leaders whose outsized personalities and actions brought order to postwar chaos: Averell Harriman, Dean Acheson, George Kennan, Robert Lovett,  John McCloy,  and Charles Bohlen.