Skip to main content

E. L. Doctorow


E. L. Doctorow

E. L. Doctorow’s works of fiction include HOMER & LANGLEY, THE MARCH, BILLY BATHGATE, RAGTIME, THE BOOK OF DANIEL, CITY OF GOD, WELCOME TO HARD TIMES, LOON LAKE, WORLD'S FAIR, THE WATERWORKS and ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD. Among his honors are the National Book Award, three National Book Critics Circle Awards, two PEN Faulkner Awards, The Edith Wharton Citation for Fiction, and the presidentially conferred National Humanities Medal. In 2009 he was short listed for the Man Booker International Prize honoring a writer’s lifetime achievement in fiction, and in 2012 he won the PEN Saul Bellow Award given to an author whose “scale of achievement over a sustained career places him  in the highest rank of American Literature.” In 2013 the American Academy of Arts and Letters awarded him the Gold Medal for Fiction.

E. L. Doctorow

Books by E. L. Doctorow

by E. L. Doctorow - Fiction

In a series of conversations, a cognitive scientist named Andrew relates salient events of his life to a person he refers to only as Doc. He speaks of his divorce from his wife and of the woman who took her place. But he digresses often to muse upon consciousness and disorders of the mind. ANDREW’S BRAIN is the story of a man attempting to make sense of the unexpected turns his life has taken.

by E. L. Doctorow - Fiction, Short Stories

From a master of modern American letters comes a collection of short fiction about people who, as E. L. Doctorow notes in his Preface, are somehow “distinct from their surroundings --- people in some sort of contest with the prevailing world.”