Skip to main content

Author News & Interviews

Interview: Julian Fellowes, author of Snobs

Feb 18, 2005

February 18, 2005

Narrated by an actor with an aristocratic pedigree, SNOBS is a delicious social satire set in 1990s England, in which a beautiful middle-class young woman claws her way into British society by marrying a dim-witted earl. Though its setting is modern, the wry sensibility and gimlet-eyed deconstruction of social morays put SNOBS firmly in the tradition of Jane Austen, E.F. Benson (especially the "Lucia" series) and Anthony Trollope. Julian Fellowes talks with's Bella Stander about mental toughness, second chances and the tribulations of the acting life.

Interview: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, author of The Effects of Light

Feb 4, 2005

February 4, 2005 Co-Founder Carol Fitzgerald and contributing writer Shannon McKenna interview debut novelist Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, author of THE EFFECTS OF LIGHT. Beverly-Whittemore talks about her inspiration for writing the book and addresses a central aspect of the novel that is likely to be a hot button issue with some readers. She also discusses the significance of the title, how her favorite writers have influenced her, and what her next project will be.

Author Talk: Daniel Silva, author of Prince of Fire

Feb 1, 2005

February 2005

In this interview Daniel Silva talks about his interest in the Arab-Israeli conflict, shares why he chose this moment to write about terrorism and sheds light on his character Gabriel Allon, as well as revealing some of his personal reflections on researching PRINCE OF FIRE.

Interview: Sarah Graves, author of Tool & Die: A Home Repair Is Homicide

Jan 7, 2005

January 7, 2005's contributing writer Shannon McKenna, along with Carol Fitzgerald and Wiley Saichek, interviewed Sarah Graves, author of TOOL & DIE, the eighth installment in her "Home Repair is Homicide" mystery series. Graves talks about the rewarding and challenging aspects of writing recurring characters, her inclusion of home repair hints throughout her novels, and her fairly extensive background in various fix-it projects.

Interview: Fannie Flagg, author of A Redbird Christmas

Dec 17, 2004

December 17, 2004 reviewer Bronwyn Miller interviewed Fannie Flag, author of numerous New York Times bestsellers including FRIED GREEN TOMATOES AT THE WHISTLE STOP CAFE and STANDING IN THE RAINBOW. Flagg talks about her choice of setting for her latest novel, A REDBIRD CHRISTMAS, and the development of her characters, many of whom are strong, irrepressible women. She also explains how being dyslexic and having A.D.D. impacts her writing routine and why she thinks Southerners have such a flair for storytelling.